top of page

NFHS Basketball: Daily Case Play

  • Writer: Sarge
    Sarge
  • Apr 28, 2022
  • 1 min read
6.4.1 - Arrow Mistake

SITUATION D: It is Team B’s turn for the next throw-in under the alternating possession procedure. By mistake, Team A is given that throw-in. Team A (a) commits a throw-in violation, or (b) releases the ball on the alternating-possession throw-in, but before the ball is legally touched inbounds, Team A or Team B commits a foul or (c) Team A completes the throw-in to teammate A2.

RULING: Once the throw-in ends – it is too late to change anything. In (a), the throw-in ends when Team A violates and results in a throw-in for Team B as well as the arrow for the next alternating possession. In (b), the alternating-possession throw-in did not end when the foul occurred. Therefore, the alternating-possession mistake is corrected and the arrow now favors Team B; penalize the foul appropriately. In (c), it is too late to correct the error of awarding the ball to the wrong team. The alternating-possession arrow will remain for Team B’s next throw-in

Comments

Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page